Tip from Karima: Check Out مجموعة الكوسا by سامح إدريس

From reader Karima (thank you!), for all of you out there looking for quality children’s books in Arabic:

Please check out, if you haven’t already done so, the very charming and thoughtful Lebanese series often referred to as “Magmoo3et el Koosa”, by Sama7 Idris. Published by Dar al Adaab lil Sighar, Beirut.  (Ta7t el Sereer, Qissat al Koosa, Om Gedida, Al Bent al Shaqra2 and one about hating bananas whose title I can’t remember). They are hilarious and my daughter loves the very creative collages. Some of the words are pure Lebanese and unfamiliar to us Egyptians, but each book has a glossary at the front and it is no problem to figure out what is meant. I wish there were more of them ! They are aimed at 6 – 10 year olds. The best Arabic children’s books I have seen !

I would love to find these for my older son; hopefully they’re available in Cairo.

This entry was posted in Lebanese, recommended. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tip from Karima: Check Out مجموعة الكوسا by سامح إدريس

  1. Karima says:

    I’m afraid I have only been able to find them in Beirut – perhaps a bookseller here can be persuaded to stock them

  2. mlynxqualey says:

    Perhaps Balsam Books will, the new children’s bookstore in Giza. I’ll ask!

Leave a Reply

