Celebrate Pioneer Arabic Children’s Author Kamel Kilani, Download Many of His Stories Free

Baheyya had a gorgeous post yesterday about pioneer children’s book author Kamel Kilani (1897-1959). The post begins with her delightful re-telling of a tale from 1,001 Nights, and goes on to tell the Egyptian Kilani’s story. She says:

His passion was the preservation and cultivation of the Arabic language, and he was party to polemical debates with Ahmed Amin and others against the increasing use of ‘ammiyya in newspapers and books.

The pursuit of this passion led Kilani to edit (in the case of Alf Layla) or pen many children’s books and narratives that delighted Baheyya and others, and still do.

I can’t do justice by quoting snippets from her portrait of Kilani and his work, so I won’t. I’ll just point you to her blog and to the place where you can download Kilani’s books, free.

I am not quite sure of this 4Shared system, so I have not yet downloaded any of the books.

This entry was posted in authors, recommended and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Celebrate Pioneer Arabic Children’s Author Kamel Kilani, Download Many of His Stories Free

  1. Sadia Khan says:

    I want to buy all the children’s books by Kilani. Could you tell me how I should go about it? I’m from India.

Leave a Reply

